*Complete copy of preliminary full EEA program can be accessed here.*


********************************************************************************************************************
********************************************************************************************************************

URPE at EEA, 2017 Program

Program now available. Given below, and here in pdf. Last updated February 20th.

Union for Radical Political Economics (URPE) at the EEA
New York, NY 2017
JEL code for all panels: B5

 

[A18] Friday 8:00 – 9:20

URPE Panel 1. China at the Present Conjuncture

Session Organizer: Ramaa Vasudevan (ramaa.vasudevan@colostate.edu, Colorado State University)

Session Chair: Ramaa Vasudevan (ramaa.vasudevan@colostate.edu, Colorado State University)

  1. “How Capitalist is the Chinese Agriculture Now?” Zhun Xu (xuzhunjune@gmail.com, Howard University)
  2. “Renewable Energy Investment and Employment in China,” Ying Chen (yingc@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research)
  3. “The Internationalization of the Renminbi and the Evolution of China’s Monetary Policy,” Ramaa Vasudevan (ramaa.vasudevan@colostate.edu, Colorado State University)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[A19] Friday 8:00 – 9:20

URPE Panel 15. Finance

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Ann Davis (ann.davis@marist.edu, Marist College)

  1. “Fetishism and Financialisation,” Ann Davis (ann.davis@marist.edu, Marist College)
  2. “An Unwitting Trojan Horse for International Financial Fragility: The IMF's 'New' Institutional View,” Devin Rafferty (Devin.T.Rafferty@gmail.com, St. Peter's University)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[B18] Friday 9:30 – 10:50

URPE Panel 2. Roundtable on Radical Institutionalism: Finding the Synergies Between Institutional Economics and Radical Political Economy

Session Organizer: Geoffrey Schneider (gschnedr@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University)

Session Chair: Geoffrey Schneider (gschnedr@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University)

Geoffrey Schneider (gschnedr@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University)

Xiao Jiang (jiangx@denison.edu, Denison University)

Erdogan Bakir (eb035@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University)

Scott Carter (scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa)

Ann Davis (adavisa@gmail.com, Marist College)

Discussion among members of roundtable

 

[C18] Friday 11:00 – 12:20

URPE Panel 3. Women Economists and Women in Economics (I)

Session Organizer: Thomas Scheiding (tscheidi@hawaii.edu, University of Hawai'i)

Session Chair: Thomas Scheiding (tscheidi@hawaii.edu, University of Hawai'i)

  1. “Gendering Left Economics: How Richard Ely and Progressive-era Economists Made Economics a Male Profession, and Social Reform a Male Concern,” Gerald Friedman (gfriedma@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
  2. “Early Women Economists at Columbia University Contributions in the Struggle for Labor Protection in the Lochner Era,” Clara Mattei (cm3448@columbia.edu, Columbia University)
  3. “The Influence and Legacy of Anna Schwartz,” Thomas Scheiding (tscheidi@hawaii.edu, University of Hawai'i)
  4. “Class and…: Eleanor Marx, Rosa Luxemburg, and Raya Dunayevskaya on Gender, Race, and Nationality,” Zoe Sherman (shermanz@merrimack.edu, Merrimack College)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[D18] Friday 1:00 – 2:20

URPE Panel 4. Women Economists and Women in Economics (II)

Session Organizer: Thomas Scheiding (tscheidi@hawaii.edu, University of Hawai'i)

Session Chair: Thomas Scheiding (tscheidi@hawaii.edu, University of Hawai'i)

  1. “The Two Faces of Economic Forecasting in Italy: Vera Cao Pinna and Almerina Ipsevich,” Marcella Corsi and Giulia Zacchia (marcella.corsi@uniroma1.it and giulia.zacchia@gmail.com, University of Rome)
  2. “French Women Economists on Morality, Desires, Liberty, Independence, and Power in the Early Economic Discourse,” Edith Kuiper (kuipere@newpaltz.edu, State University of New York, New Paltz)
  3. “Introductory Observations to Routledge Handbook of the History of Women’s Economic Thought,” Kirsten Madden (kirsten.madden@millersville.edu, Millersville University)
  4. “Women Economists in Modern China,” Yue Xiao (yxiao31@uic.edu, University of Illinois – Chicago)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[D19] Friday 1:00 – 2:20

URPE Panel 16. Designing a Heterodox Curriculum

Session Organizer: Ron Baiman (baiman@sbcglobal.net, Benedictine University)

Session Chair: Ron Baiman (baiman@sbcglobal.net, Benedictine University)

  1. “The Profound Implications of Continuing to Teach 'Supply and Demand' Instead of 'Demand and Cost' in Intro Economics Courses - an Unequal Exchange Application,” Ron Baiman (baiman@sbcglobal.net, Benedictine University)
  2. “Developing Heterodox Economics Curriculum,” Geert Dhondt (geertleodhondt@gmail.com, John Jay College of Criminal Justice)
  3. “Can We Teach an Alternative Introduction to Microeconomics?” Gerald Friedman (gfriedma@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
  4. “A Classical Political Economy Curriculum,” Anwar Shaikh (shaikh@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research)

Discussants: Scott Cater (scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa), Zoe Sherman (shermanz@merrimack.edu, Merrimack College), Fatma Gul Unal (unalgul@gmail.com, Hobart and William Smith Colleges)

 

[E18] Friday 2:30 – 3:50

URPE Panel 5. Undergraduate Research in Political Economy

Session Organizer: Xiao Jiang (jiangx@denison.edu, Denison University)

Session Chair: Geoffrey Schneider (gschnedr@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University)

    1. “The Job Guarantee: The Solution to Growing Income Inequality in the United States?” Katie Scott (scott_k2@denison.edu, Denison University)
    2. “Prohibition Model: Analyzing Illicit Markets Through Agent-Based Modeling,” Ansel Schiavone (schiav_a1@denison.edu, Denison University)
    3. “Supplementing Incomes: The Effects of the Affordable Care Act on Reducing Inequality,”Twisha Asher (asher_t1@denison.edu, Denison University)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[F18] Friday 4:00 – 5:20

URPE Panel 6. Transformations in Capitalism

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Julio Huato (juliohuato@gmail.com, St. Francis College, Brooklyn)

      1. “The Artisan Economy and the New Spirit of Capitalism,” Kirstin Munro (munro@pdx.edu, Portland State University)
      2. “Self-help and the Economics of Austerity,” Clara Mattei (matteic@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research), David Maddy (maddd855@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research)
      3. “The Deep History of Postwar Global Capitalism,” Julio Huato (juliohuato@gmail.com, St. Francis College, Brooklyn)

Discussants: The panelists and Michael Meeropol (mameerop@gmail.com, Western New England University)

Soiree for Radical Economists- Hosted by John Jay Economics and co sponsored by AESA and URPE. 

[G18] Saturday 8:30 – 9:50

URPE Panel 7. Trade Theory, Capital Theory, and Classical Economics

Session Organizer: Scott Carter (scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa)

Session Chair: Katherine Moos (kmoos@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research)

      1. “Unequal Exchange or Absolute Cost Advantage? Evidence from the Trade Between Greece and Germany,” Persefoni Tsaliki (ptsaliki@econ.auth.gr, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki) Lefteris Tsoulfidis (lnt@uom.edu.gr , University of Macedonia)
      2. “Pasinetti on Economic Growth and Structural Change,” Gary Mongiovi (mongiovg@stjohns.edu, St John’s University) and Davide Gualerzi (davide.gualerzi@unipd.it, Università di Padova)
      3. “Capital Theory: Less is More,” Lefteris Tsoulfidis (lnt@uom.edu.gr, University of Macedonia)
      4. “Sraffa and the Configuration of Exchange in subsistence and surplus production: New Evidence from the Sraffa Archive,” Scott Carter (scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa)

Discussants: John Sarich (john.sarich@gmail.com, New York City Department of Finance), Anwar Shaikh (shaikh@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research), Scott Carter (scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa), Gary Mongiovi (mongiovg@stjohns.edu, St John’s University)

 

[G19] Saturday 8:30 – 9:50

URPE Panel 17. Capitalism: Roots, Productivity, Food Insecurity, Time Deficits and Poverty

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Ajit Zacharias (zacharia@levy.org, Levy Economics Institute of Bard College)

      1. Paradigms in Conflict: A Comparison of the Economic Organization of Pre-Columbian America and Europe. Sergia Coffey (sergiatom@yahoo.com, SUNY Empire State College)
      2. Does Higher Productivity Pay Off? A firm-level Analysis of Earnings Inequalities in Egypt,” Amr Ragab (amragab@gmail.com, Doha Institute)
      3. An Examination of the Determinants of Food Insecurity in Greece,” Charalampos Konstantinidis (Konstantinidis@umb.edu, University of Massachusetts, Boston)
      4. Time Deficits and Poverty in Ghana and Tanzania: A New Perspective,” Ajit Zacharias (zacharia@levy.org, Levy Economics Institute of Bard College)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[H18] Saturday 10:00 – 11:20

URPE Panel 8. Political Economy of Racism

Session Organizer: Scott Carter (scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa)

Session Chair: Tazewell Hurst (thurst@iamaw.org, International Association of Machinists)

      1. "Wherein Lies the Fertile Ground for Racial Equality? An Analysis of the Spatial Relationship between Inequality, Segregation, and Racial Wealth Disparities," Johan Andres Uribe (uribej@denison.edu, Denison University)
      2. "Revisiting Bergmann's Occupational Crowding Model," Michelle Holder (mholder@jjay.cuny.edu, John Jay College of Criminal Justice)

Discussant: Nancy Breen (breenn@mail.nih.gov, National Institute of Health)

 

[I18] Saturday 1:00 – 2:20

URPE Panel 9. The Effects of Gender and Race on Economic Outcomes

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Paddy Quick (paddyquick8@gmail.com, St. Francis College, Brooklyn)

      1. “What’s wealth got to do with it? A two-tiered model of racialized wealth accumulation,” Johan Uribe (uribej@denison.edu, Denison University)
      2. “Women’s Tertiary Education Masks the Gender Wage Gap in Turkey,” Hasan Tekgüç ( htekguc@gmail.com, Kadir Has university), S. Deger Eryar (deger.eryar@gmail.com, Izmir University of Economics, Turkey), Dilek Cindoğlu ( dilek.cindoglu@gmail.com, Abdullah Gül University)
      3. “Does an Increase in Women's Labor Force Participation Constitute a Reduction in the Oppression of Women?” Paddy Quick (paddyquick8@gmail.com, St. Francis College, Brooklyn)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[J18] Saturday 2:30 – 3:50

URPE Panel 10. The Effects of Power, Class and Community of Economic Outcomes

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Jessica Carrick-Hagenbarth (jess.caren@gmail.com, SUNY, Cortland)

      1. “Power and Environment - Political Economy of Environment Revisited,” An Li (anli.chinapr@gmail.com, University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
      2. “Social class and disaster exposure,” Lopamudra Banerjee (lbanerjee@bennington.edu, Bennington College)
      3. “Community-Driven Development in Brazil's Northeast: Sources of Subproject Failure,” Jessica Carrick-Hagenbarth (jess.caren@gmail.com, SUNY, Cortland)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[K18] Saturday 4:00 – 5:20

URPE Panel 11. Marx and Money

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: TBA

      1. “Analytical Foundations of a Marxian Circuit of Capital Model and Its Applications to Regime Analysis,” Takashi Satoh (satoh@oita-u.ac.jp, Oita University, Japan)
      2. “Marx on the 19th Century Gold Standard,” Laurence Krause (krausel@oldwestbury.edu, SUNY, The College at Old Westbury)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[L18] Sunday 8:30 – 9:50

URPE Panel 12. Profit Studies

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Armagan Gezici (armagang@gmail.com, Keene State College)

      1. “Technical Change and the Rate of Profit When Production is Driven by Price--Value Deviation,” Hyun Woong Park (ppphhw@gmail.com, Allegheny College)
      2. “DuPont Formula Profit Rate Equalization Model,” Neil Boyle (neilboyle007@gmail.com, NSSR)
      3. “Profits of the U.S. Nonfinancial Corporations,” Armagan Gezici (armagang@gmail.com, Keene State College)
      4. “The Profit Doctrine: The Economists of the Neoliberal Era,” Robert Chernomas (chernoma@cc.umanitoba.ca, University of Manitoba)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[M18] Sunday 10:00 – 11:20

URPE Panel 13. Keynes and Post-Keynesian Analyses

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Mona Ali (alim@newpaltz.edu, State University of New York, New Paltz)

      1. “Keynes: New Vs Old,” Rohit Azad (rohitf@newschool.edu, New School of Social Research)
      2. “A Supermultiplier Stock-Flow Consistent Model: the "return" of the paradoxes of thrift and costs in the long run?” Lídia Brochier (lidiabrochier@gmail.com, University of Campinas, Brazil)
      3. “A Post-Keynesian Model of Rent Seeking,” Kurt von Seekamm (kvonseekamm@salemstate.edu, Salem State University)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[M19] Sunday 10:00 – 11:20

URPE Panel 18. Social and Economic Development in the Caribbean: Current Issues and Perspectives

Session Organizer: Orlando Justo (orlandojusto@gmail.com, CUNY, BMCC)

Session Chair: Rex McKenzie (rexmck@gmail.com, Kingston University, UK)

      1. “Cuba-U.S. New Relations: Economic Consequences for the Caribbean Area,” Orlando Justo (orlandojusto@gmail.com, CUNY, BMCC)
      2. “BREXIT: Economic Consequences for the Caribbean Community (CARICOM),” Paul Clement (paul_clement@fitnyc.edu, SUNY, FIT)
      3. “Financial Dependency in Costa Rica,” Alejandro Alonso Quirós (K1551609@kingston.ac.uk, Kingston University, UK)
      4. Social & Economic Sources of Homicide/Murder in Latin America and the Caribbean – Three Country Case Studies,” Rex McKenzie (rexmck@gmail.com, Kingston University, UK)

Discussion among the panelists

 

[N18] Sunday 11:30 – 12:50

URPE Panel 14. Trade, Real Exchange Rates and Balance of Payments

Session Organizer: Al Campbell (al@economics.utah.edu)

Session Chair: Mona Ali (alim@newpaltz.edu, State University of New York, New Paltz)

      1. “Real Exchange Rate and Economic Growth in Semi-industrialized Economies,” Tanadej Vechsuruck (tanadejv@gmail.com, University of Utah)
      2. “The Labor Costs of Globalization,”Aman Bardia (abardia@gm.slc.edu, Sarah Lawrence College)
      3. “The Consigliere: Monetary Power and the British Balance of Payments,” Mona Ali (alim@newpaltz.edu, State University of New York, New Paltz)

Discussion among the panelists