URPE at ASSA, January 4-6 2019, Atlanta, GA

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

ACCOUNTING FOR GENDER DIFFERENTIAL OUTCOMES (IAFFE–URPE Joint Session)

Chair: Randy Albelda, randy.albelda@umb.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston                    

 

Paper#1: The US Department of Defense and Gender-Biased Human Capital Development

Tyler Saxon, tymatsaxon@gmail.com, Hamilton College

 

Paper#2: Ask and You Shall Receive? Gender Differences in Regrades in College   

Cher Li hsueh-hsiang.li@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Basit Zafar, Arizona State University 

 

Paper#3: Gender and Mental Health in the United States: The Impact of Paid and Unpaid Work

Chiara Piovani, Chiara.Piovani@du.edu, University of Denver

Nursel Aydiner-Avsar, UNCTAD                     

 

Paper#4: Graduating During the Great Recession: The Effect of Student Loan Debt on Wages and Wage Growth of Recent Colleges Graduates

Alex Bernasek, Alexandra.Bernasek@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Melanie G. Long, Colorado State University  

 

Paper#5: Will the Different Retirement Age Enlarge the Gender Gap in Urban China?

Jin Feng, jfeng@fudan.edu.cn, Fudan University

Jin Liu, Central University of Finance             

Discussion among presenters

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

CAPITALIST DEVELOPMENT AND THE NON-CAPITAL IN THE PERIPHERY

Chair/Organizer: Alejandro Garay-Huaman, alejandro.garay@fulbrightmail.org, Bucknell University

 

Paper #1: Economic development from a Marxian perspective: Main contributions and challenges

Juan E. Santarcángelo, jsantar@gmail.com, the Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Buenos Aires, Argentina

 

Paper #2: Capitalist and non-capitalist articulation: Peruvian peasants and transnational mining corporations

Alejandro  Garay-Huaman, alejandro.garay@fulbrightmail.org, Bucknell University

 

Paper #3: Empirical Evaluation of Informal Labor in Latin America, 1990-2014

Jose  Galvez, joserolandogalvez@gmail.com, Colorado State University

 

Paper #4: Labor Market Outcomes in Global Value Chains: Wage and Income Distribution Effects of Trade Integration in Developing Economies

Arpan  Ganguly, arpan.ganguly@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

 

Discussants:

Jacob Powell, jpkx7@mail.umkc.edu,  University of Missouri Kansas City

Rafed Al-Huq,  rifrafrif@gmail.com,  Hobart and William Smith Colleges

 

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

10:15 AM - 12:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover B

FINANCIAL IMBALANCES, FRAGILITIES AND POLICY SOLUTIONS                           

Chair: Eugenia Correa, correa@unam.mx, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

 

Paper #1: The odd fiscal ‘implicit bargain’ between constituent states of the Eurozone, and how to make it work

Ignacio Ramirez Cisneros, irv22@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri – Kansas City      

 

Paper #2: Evolution of Policy Proposals for the Eurozone Following the Global Financial Crisis of 2008

Nina Eichacker, ninaqeichacker@gmail.com, University of Rhode Island

           

Paper #3: The rise of net lending among G7 countries: a firm-level analysis.

Davide Villani, davide.villani@open.ac.uk, Open University 

 

Paper #4: Shareholder Payouts and Wages: A Missing Link?

Lenore Palladino, lenorepalladino@gmail.com, Roosevelt Institute

 

Discussants:

Armagan Gezici, agezici@keene.edu, Keene State College

Ingrid Kvangraven, ingrid.kvangraven@york.ac.uk, University of York

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

10:15 AM - 12:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G 

BLACK WOMEN AND WORK

Organizer/Chair:  Jennifer Cohen, cohenje@miamioh.edu, Miami University and the University of the Witwatersrand

 

Paper #1: Beyond income: race, work, and health inequalities among women

Jennifer Cohen, cohenje@miamioh.edu, Miami University and the University of the Witwatersrand

 

Paper #2: Black Women and Non-Market Work:  Theorizing the Community as a Site of Production

Nina Banks, nbanks@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University

 

Paper #3: Automation, AI, Robotics and older Black Women Workers

Chandra Childers, childers@iwpr.org, The Institute for Women’s Policy Research

 

Paper #4: Gender Violence and Work: Evidence from Dominican Bateyes

Cruz Caridad Bueno, buenoc@newpaltz.edu, State University of New York-New Paltz

 

Discussants:

Michelle Holder, mholder@jjay.cuny.edu, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY

Paddy Quick, paddyquick8@gmail.com, St. Francis College

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

12:30 PM - 2:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

2019 David Gordon Memorial Lecture

Social Structures and Macrodynamics

 

Anwar Shaikh, New School for Social Research

 

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

2:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

CHALLENGES FOR LATIN AMERICA

Chair: Ignacio Ramirez Cisneros, irv22@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri – Kansas City                                           

Paper#1: Industrialization and structural change of the periphery in the global world 

Margarita Olivera, marga.oli@gmail.com, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro

 

Paper #2: The second neoliberal counter-revolution: Argentina, Brazil and Ecuador

Eugenia Correa, correa@unam.mx, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

 

Paper#3: Efficiency and Equity Under Changing External Conditions: The Case of Mexico

Luis Villanueva villanueval@denison.edu, Denison University         

 

Paper#4: Profitability and accumulation in Mexico: new estimates and analysis

Sergio Cámara Izquierdo, scamara@azc.uam.mx, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana 

 

Discussants:

Alejandro  Garay-Huaman, alejandro.garay@fulbrightmail.org, Bucknell University

Devika Dutt, ddutt@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

2:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

RACE, IMMIGRATION, GENDER: ADVANCES IN HETERODOX METHODOLOGY

Chair: Sirisha C. Naidu, sirisha.naidu@wright.edu, Wright State University

 

Paper #1: Stratification Economics and the Neoclassical “Economics of Race” as Evolutionary Scientific Communities: Can the Stratification Approach Succeed?

Kyle Moore, moork408@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research

 

Paper #2: The Fading Mark of Migration: Assimilation as Information Loss among US Immigrants

Noe Wiener, nwiener@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #3: We’re All Feminists Now: Endogenizing Social Reproduction in Marxian Economics

Katherine A Moos, kmoos@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #4: Relations of Production and Relations of Sex/Gender/Age

Paddy Quick, paddyquick8@gmail.com, St. Francis College

 

Discussants:

Darrick Hamilton, hamiltod@newschool.edu, The New School for Social Research

John Davis, john.davis@mu.edu, Marquette University

 

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

4:30 PM - 6:00 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

URPE Membership Meeting

 

 

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover AB

URPE Reception

 

 

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

STRATIFICATION AND INTERSECTIONALITY (IAFFE–URPE Joint Session)

Chair: M.V. Lee Badgett, lbadgett@gmail.com, University of Massachusetts Amherst

                       

Paper#1: Wage Gap Squared? Examining African American Women's Earnings Gap and the Declining Labor Share of Income         

Michelle Holder, michelleholder999@gmail.com, John Jay College CUNY

 

Paper#2: Intersectionality and Returns in the Labor Market: Penalties of Race and Gender          

Mark Paul, markvpaul62@gmail.com,  New College of Florida

Khaing Zaw, khai.zaw@duke.edu, Duke University

Darrick Hamilton, hamiltod@newschool.edu, The New School for Social Research

William Darity, william.darity@duke.edu, Duke University              

 

Paper #3: Identity, Employment, and the Great Recession: Evidence from the NLSY          

Levi Altringer, Levi.Altringer@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Sarah Small, Sarah.Small@colostate.edu, Colorado State University                      

 

Paper #4: Are there macroeconomic costs to racial inequality in the US?

Stephanie Seguino, stephanie.seguino@uvm.edu,  University of Vermont 

Discussant: Thomas Briggs, thomasmbriggs@gmail.com, Colorado State University                      

 

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITIES: STRUCTURE AND AGENCY                         

Chair: Aqdas Afzal, aqdas.afzal@gmail.com, National University of Sciences and Technology, Islamabad

 

Paper #1: Green Growth and The Right to Energy in India

Shouvik Chakraborty, shouvik@peri.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst    

 

Paper #2: Macroeconomic Policy in an Environmentally-Constrained Economy:  A Dialectical Materialist Application of the Harrod Growth Model

Hendrik Van Den Berg , hvandenberg@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Alfredo Rosete, arosete@warren-wilson.edu, Warren Wilson College       

 

Paper #3: Salvation or Commodification? The Role of Money and Markets in Global Ecological Preservation

Ann Davis, ann.davis@marist.edu, Marist College   

 

Paper #4: The Communitarian Revolutionary Subject: New Forms of social transformation

David Barkin, barkin@correo.xoc.uam.mx, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana

 

Discussants:

Aqdas Afzal, aqdas.afzal@gmail.com, National University of Sciences and Technology, Islamabad

Luis Villanueva villanueval@denison.edu, Denison University

 

 

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

10:15 AM - 12:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

CONCEPTUALIZING LABOR

Chair: Noe Wiener, nwiener@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #1: Alternative Work Arrangements as Labor Discipline

Erik Olsen, olsenek@umkc.edu, University of Missouri Kansas City

Jacob Powell, jpkx7@mail.umkc.edu,  University of Missouri Kansas City

 

Paper #2: Working as an end: The importance of autonomy of labor in shaping human development

Dai Duong, ddd5db@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri-Kansas City   

 

Paper #3: Work Transfer and Household Recycling Sorting

Kirstin Munro, munrok@stjohns.edu, St. John's University

           

Paper #4: Can ‘Landnahme’ finally locate the role of care work for the capitalist mode of production?

Anna Saave-Harnack, anna.saave-harnack@uni-jena.de, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena          

 

Discussants:

Noe Wiener, nwiener@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Katherine A. Moos, kmoos@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

 

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

10:15 AM - 12:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

SOCIAL DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH AND WEALTH 

Chair:  Michelle Holder, mholder@jjay.cuny.edu, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY

 

Paper #1: The Effects of Residential Segregation on Mortality Disparities in the US

Nancy Breen, breenn@mail.nih.gov, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

 

Paper #2: Quality Public Transportation Can Improve Access to Care

Darrell Gaskin,  dgaskin1@jhu.edu,  Johns Hopkins University

 

Paper #3: Intersection of Race Incarceration and Wealth

Darrick Hamilton, hamiltod@newschool.edu, The New School for Social Research

 

Paper #4: Affordable Housing in Westchester County, NY

Laurence O'Connell, larryoconnell64@gmail.com, The New School of Social Research

 

Discussants: 

Patrick Mason, pmason@fsu.edu, Florida State University

Robert B. Williams, bwillia2@guilford.edu, Guilford College

 

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

2:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

DIVERGENT TRAJECTORIES: THE POLITICAL ECONOMY OF SOUTH ASIA

Organizer/Chair: Aqdas Afzal, aqdas.afzal@gmail.com, National University of Sciences and Technology, Islamabad

 

Paper #1: The Accumulation of Capital and its implications for ‘development’ in India

Ruchira  Sen, rswk6@mail.umkc.edu, The Binzagr Institute for Sustainable Prosperity

 

Paper #2: Rethinking Precariat in the Post-Colonial Context: An Empirical Examination of Slum Settlements in Pakistan.

Danish Khan, danishkhan@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

 

Paper #3: Comparative Performance of Neoliberal Institutions in South Asia.

Shahram  Azhar, shahram.azhar@ahss.habib.edu.pk, Habib University, Karachi

 

Paper #4: Bringing the State Back in South Asia.

Aqdas  Afzal, aqdas.afzal@gmail.com, , National University of Sciences and Technology, Islamabad

 

Paper #5: A Policy Proposal for Green Jobs in India

Shouvik Chakraborty,  shouvik@peri.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Discussion among presenters

 

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

2:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Grand Hall East A

HOW RACIST IDEOLOGY SHAPES ECONOMIC OUTCOMES

Organizer/Chair: Nancy Breen, breenn@mail.nih.gov, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

 

Paper #1: Blacks for Trump: Who are the African Americans Who Supported the President and Why did these African Americans Vote for Him?

Patrick Mason, pmason@fsu.edu, Florida State University

 

Paper #2: Cult of the Confederacy and the Division of the Working Class

Scott Carter, scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa

 

Paper #3: Federal Wealth Policy and the Perpetuation of White Supremacy

Robert B. Williams, bwillia2@guilford.edu, Guilford College

 

Paper #4: Spatial Justice, Uneven Development, and Intergenerational Inequality: A 'Postcolonial' United States of America

Jordan Shipley, jksy8c@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri - Kansas City

 

Discussant:  William Darity, william.darity@duke.edu, Duke University

 

Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019

8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

FINANCIAL FRAGILITY, SECULAR STAGNATION, AND INCOME DISTRIBUTION

Chair: Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

 

Paper #1: Induced shifting involvements and cycles of growth and distribution

Michalis  Nikiforos, mnikiforos@levy.org, Levy Economic Institute

 

Paper #2: The Functions and Distribution of Household Debt – A Study on US Data

Orsola Costantini, ocostantini@ineteconomics.org, Institute for New Economic Thinking

 

Paper #3: Income shares, secular stagnation, and the long run distribution of wealth

Daniele Tavani, daniele.tavani@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

 

Paper #4: The evolution of financial fragility: A quantile decomposition of firm balance sheets

Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

 

Discussants:

Orsola Costantini, ocostantini@ineteconomics.org, Institute for New Economic Thinking

Luke Petach, luke.petach@colostate.edu,  Colorado State University

Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

Michalis Nikiforos, mnikiforos@levy.org, Levy Economic Institute

 

Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019

8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

MACROECONOMIC AND DEVELOPMENT POLICY IN A FINANCIALLY GLOBALIZED ECONOMY: CURRENT AND HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVES

Chair: Devika Dutt, ddutt@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #1: The Return of the Sacred Cows: How the International Financial Institutions Approach New Forms of Finance

Ingrid Kvangraven, ingrid.kvangraven@york.ac.uk, University of York

 

Paper #2: The IMF and World Bank’s policy for development of government bond market in developing countries: primacy of monetary policy as the result of financial globalisation

Carolina Alves, cca30@cam.ac.uk, University of Cambridge

 

Paper #3: The role of aid on peace consolidation in post-conflict Sri Lanka

Narayani Sritharan, nsritharan@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #4: Terms of Trade, Tariff Rates, and Recoveries from Financial Crises: The United States and Argentina in the 1890s

Peter Bent, phbent@gmail.com, American University of Paris

 

Paper #5: Can Reserve Accumulation be Counterproductive?

Devika Dutt, ddutt@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Discussion among presenters

 

Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019

10:15 AM - 12:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

THE RELATION OF PROFIT TO MONOPOLY POWER, INVESTMENT, AND ECONOMIC EXPANSION IN THE CONTEMPORARY US ECONOMY

Chair/Organizer: David Kotz, dmkotz@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #1: Exploring the phases of current business cycle expansion in the U.S. and contemplating the next recession

Erdogan Bakir, eb035@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University

Al Campbell, al@economics.utah.edu, University of Utah

 

Paper #2: The U.S. Corporate Profits, Monopoly Power and New Technologies

Armagan Gezici, agezici@keene.edu, Keene State College

 

Paper #3: The Rate of Profit, Aggregate Demand, and the Long Economic Expansion since 2009 in the U.S.

David Kotz, dmkotz@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

Paper #4: Revisiting the investment-profit puzzle: the role of intangible assets

Ozgur Orhangazi, ozgurorhangazi@gmail.com, Kadir Has University, Istanbul

 

Discussants:

Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

Carolina Alves, cca30@cam.ac.uk, University of Cambridge