Union for Radical Political Economics: Program of Events & Sessions

ASSA January 4-6 2019

Hyatt Regency, Atlanta, GA

https://www.aeaweb.org/conference/

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM

ACCOUNTING FOR GENDER DIFFERENTIAL OUTCOMES (IAFFE–URPE Joint Session)

Friday 8:00 AM – 10:00 AMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

Chair: Randy Albelda, randy.albelda@umb.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

Paper#1: The US Department of Defense and Gender-Biased Human Capital Development

Tyler Saxon, tymatsaxon@gmail.com, Hamilton College

Paper#2: Ask and You Shall Receive? Gender Differences in Regrades in College 

Cher Li hsueh-hsiang.li@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Basit Zafar, Arizona State University

Paper#3: Gender and Mental Health in the United States: The Impact of Paid and Unpaid Work

Chiara Piovani, Chiara.Piovani@du.edu, University of Denver

Nursel Aydiner-Avsar, UNCTAD                    

Paper#4: Graduating During the Great Recession: The Effect of Student Loan Debt on Wages and Wage Growth of Recent Colleges Graduates

Alex Bernasek, Alexandra.Bernasek@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Melanie G. Long, Colorado State University

Paper#5: Will the Different Retirement Age Enlarge the Gender Gap in Urban China?

Jin Feng, jfeng@fudan.edu.cn, Fudan University

Jin Liu, Central University of Finance           

Discussion among presenters

CAPITALIST DEVELOPMENT AND THE NON-CAPITAL IN THE PERIPHERY

Friday 8:00 AM – 10:00 AMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Chair/Organizer: Alejandro Garay-Huaman, alejandro.garay@fulbrightmail.org, Bucknell University

Paper #1: Economic development from a Marxian perspective: Main contributions and challenges

Juan E. Santarcángelo, jsantar@gmail.com, the Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Paper #2: Capitalist and non-capitalist articulation: Peruvian peasants and transnational mining corporations

Alejandro  Garay-Huaman, alejandro.garay@fulbrightmail.org, Bucknell University

Paper #3: Empirical Evaluation of Informal Labor in Latin America, 1990-2014

Jose  Galvez, joserolandogalvez@gmail.com, Colorado State University

Paper #4: Labor Market Outcomes in Global Value Chains: Wage and Income Distribution Effects of Trade Integration in Developing Economies

Arpan  Ganguly, arpan.ganguly@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Discussants:

Jacob Powell, jpkx7@mail.umkc.edu,  University of Missouri Kansas City

Rafed Al-Huq,  rifrafrif@gmail.com,  Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

10:15 AM – 12:15 PM

FINANCIAL IMBALANCES, FRAGILITIES AND POLICY SOLUTIONS   

Friday 10:15 AM – 12:15 PMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover B

Chair: Eugenia Correa, correa@unam.mx, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Paper #1: The odd fiscal ‘implicit bargain’ between constituent states of the Eurozone, and how to make it work

Ignacio Ramirez Cisneros, irv22@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri – Kansas City    

Paper #2: Evolution of Policy Proposals for the Eurozone Following the Global Financial Crisis of 2008

Nina Eichacker, ninaqeichacker@gmail.com, University of Rhode Island

Paper #3: The rise of net lending among G7 countries: a firm-level analysis.

Davide Villani, davide.villani@open.ac.uk, Open University

Paper #4: Shareholder Payouts and Wages: A Missing Link?

Lenore Palladino, lenorepalladino@gmail.com, Roosevelt Institute           

Discussants:

Armagan Gezici, agezici@keene.edu, Keene State College

BLACK WOMEN AND WORK

Friday 10:15 AM – 12:15 PMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Organizer/Chair:  Jennifer Cohen, cohenje@miamioh.edu, Miami University and the University of the Witwatersrand

Paper #1: Beyond income: race, work, and health inequalities among women

Jennifer Cohen, cohenje@miamioh.edu, Miami University and the University of the Witwatersrand

Paper #2: Black Women and Non-Market Work:  Theorizing the Community as a Site of Production

Nina Banks, nbanks@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University

Paper #3: Automation, AI, Robotics and older Black Women Workers

Chandra Childers, childers@iwpr.org, The Institute for Women’s Policy Research

Paper #4: Gender Violence and Work: Evidence from Dominican Bateyes

Cruz Caridad Bueno, buenoc@newpaltz.edu, State University of New York-New Paltz

Paper #5: Does Land Still Matter? Gender and Land Reforms in Zimbabwe

Sirisha Naidu, sirisha.naidu@wright.edu Wright State University
Lyn Ossome, lossome@misr.mak.ac.ug, Makerere Institute of Social Research, Uganda

Discussants:

Michelle Holder, mholder@jjay.cuny.edu, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY

Paddy Quick, paddyquick8@gmail.com, St. Francis College

2019 David Gordon Memorial Lecture

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

12:30 PM – 2:15 PM

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Social Structures and Macrodynamics

Anwar Shaikh, New School for Social Research

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

2:30 PM – 4:30 PM

CHALLENGES FOR LATIN AMERICA

Friday 2:30 PM – 4:30 PMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

Chair: Ignacio Ramirez Cisneros, irv22@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri – Kansas City                                          

Paper#1: Industrialization and structural change of the periphery in the global world

Margarita Olivera, marga.oli@gmail.com, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro          

Paper #2: The second neoliberal counter-revolution: Argentina, Brazil and Ecuador

Eugenia Correa, correa@unam.mx, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Discussants:

Alejandro  Garay-Huaman, alejandro.garay@fulbrightmail.org, Bucknell University

Devika Dutt, ddutt@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

RACE, IMMIGRATION, GENDER: ADVANCES IN HETERODOX METHODOLOGY

Friday 2:30 PM – 4:30 PMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Chair: Sirisha C. Naidu, sirisha.naidu@wright.edu, Wright State University

Paper #1: Stratification Economics and the Neoclassical “Economics of Race” as Evolutionary Scientific Communities: Can the Stratification Approach Succeed?

Kyle Moore, moork408@newschool.edu, New School for Social Research

Paper #2: The Fading Mark of Migration: Assimilation as Information Loss among US Immigrants

Noe Wiener, nwiener@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #3: We’re All Feminists Now: Endogenizing Social Reproduction in Marxian Economics

Katherine A Moos, kmoos@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #4: Relations of Production and Relations of Sex/Gender/Age

Paddy Quick, paddyquick8@gmail.com, St. Francis College

Discussants:

Darrick Hamilton, hamiltod@newschool.edu, The New School for Social Research

John Davis, john.davis@mu.edu, Marquette University

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

URPE Membership Meeting

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

4:30 PM – 6:00 PM

URPE Reception

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover AB

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM

STRATIFICATION AND INTERSECTIONALITY (IAFFE–URPE Joint Session)

Saturday 8:00am – 10:00am Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

Chair: M.V. Lee Badgett, lbadgett@gmail.com, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper#1: Intersectionality and Returns in the Labor Market: Penalties of Race and Gender         

Mark Paul, markvpaul62@gmail.com,  New College of Florida

Khaing Zaw, khai.zaw@duke.edu, Duke University

Darrick Hamilton, hamiltod@newschool.edu, The New School for Social Research

William Darity, william.darity@duke.edu, Duke University             

Paper #2: Are there macroeconomic costs to racial inequality in the US?

Stephanie Seguino, stephanie.seguino@uvm.edu,  University of Vermont

Nancy Brooks, nancy.brooks@cornell.edu, Cornell University

Paper #3: Intersectionality and Suicide Over Business Cycles

Thomas Briggs, thomasmbriggs@gmail.com, Colorado State University   

Discussant:      Bryanna Dixon, Colorado State University

SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITIES: STRUCTURE AND AGENCY

Saturday 8:00am – 10:00am Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Chair: Kirstin Munro, munrok@stjohns.edu, St. John’s University

Paper #1: Macroeconomic Policy in an Environmentally-Constrained Economy:  A Dialectical Materialist Application of the Harrod Growth Model

Hendrik Van Den Berg , hvandenberg@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Alfredo Rosete, arosete@warren-wilson.edu, Warren Wilson College      

Paper #2: Salvation or Commodification? The Role of Money and Markets in Global Ecological Preservation

Ann Davis, ann.davis@marist.edu, Marist College   

Paper #3: The Communitarian Revolutionary Subject: New Forms of social transformation

David Barkin, barkin@correo.xoc.uam.mx, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana

Discussants:

Kirstin Munro, munrok@stjohns.edu, St. John’s University

Scott Carter, scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

10:15 AM – 12:15 PM

CONCEPTUALIZING LABOR

Saturday 10:15am – 12:15pm Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

Chair: Noe Wiener, nwiener@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #1: Alternative Work Arrangements as Labor Discipline

Erik Olsen, olsenek@umkc.edu, University of Missouri Kansas City

Jacob Powell, jpkx7@mail.umkc.edu,  University of Missouri Kansas City

Paper #2: Working as an end: The importance of autonomy of labor in shaping human development

Dai Duong, ddd5db@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri-Kansas City   

Paper #3: Work Transfer and Household Recycling Sorting

Kirstin Munro, munrok@stjohns.edu, St. John’s University

Paper #4: Can ‘Landnahme’ finally locate the role of care work for the capitalist mode of production?

Anna Saave-Harnack, anna.saave-harnack@uni-jena.de, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena          

Discussants:

Noe Wiener, nwiener@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Katherine A. Moos, kmoos@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

SOCIAL DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH AND WEALTH 

Saturday 10:15am – 12:15pm Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Chair:  Michelle Holder, mholder@jjay.cuny.edu, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY

Paper #1: The Effects of Residential Segregation on Mortality Disparities in the US

Nancy Breen, breenn@mail.nih.gov, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Paper #2: Quality Public Transportation Can Improve Access to Care

Darrell Gaskin,  dgaskin1@jhu.edu,  Johns Hopkins University

Paper #3: Intersection of Race Incarceration and Wealth

Darrick Hamilton, hamiltod@newschool.edu, The New School for Social Research

Paper #4: Affordable Housing in Westchester County, NY

Laurence O’Connell, larryoconnell64@gmail.com, The New School of Social Research

Discussants: 

Patrick Mason, pmason@fsu.edu, Florida State University

Robert B. Williams, bwillia2@guilford.edu, Guilford College

Saturday January 5

Women’s Caucus Meeting

12pm – 1pm

Hyatt Regency Atlanta Learning Center

Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019

2:30 PM – 4:30 PM

EMPIRICAL STUDIES OF GROWTH AND DISTRIBUTION

Saturday 2:30 – 4:30pm Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Chair: Ozgur Orhangazi, ozgurorhangazi@gmail.com, Kadir Has University, Istanbul

Paper #1: Semi-Proletarianization in a Two-Sector Model: The Case of China

Hao Qi, hq@ruc.edu.cn, Renmin University of China

Paper #2: New Evidence in Cross-Country Growth: Balanced versus Unbalanced Growth Hypotheses Revisited

Xiao Jiang, jiangx@denison.edu, Denison University

Chau Nguyen, chaubo7001@gmail.com, Oxford University

Paper #3: Distributional Consequences of Monetary Policy in Emerging Markets

Zhandos Ybrayev, zybrayev@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Discussants:

Ozgur Orhangazi, ozgurorhangazi@gmail.com, Kadir Has University, Istanbul

Peter Bent, phbent@gmail.com, American University of Paris

HOW RACIST IDEOLOGY SHAPES ECONOMIC OUTCOMES

Saturday 2:30 – 4:30pm Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Grand Hall East A

Organizer/Chair: Nancy Breen, breenn@mail.nih.gov, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Paper #1: Blacks for Trump: Who are the African Americans Who Supported the President and Why did these African Americans Vote for Him?

Patrick Mason, pmason@fsu.edu, Florida State University

Paper #2: Cult of the Confederacy and the Division of the Working Class

Scott Carter, scott-carter@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa

Paper #3: Federal Wealth Policy and the Perpetuation of White Supremacy

Robert B. Williams, bwillia2@guilford.edu, Guilford College

Paper #4: Spatial Justice, Uneven Development, and Intergenerational Inequality: A ‘Postcolonial’ United States of America

Jordan Shipley, jksy8c@mail.umkc.edu, University of Missouri – Kansas City

Discussant: William Darity, william.darity@duke.edu, Duke University

Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM

FINANCIAL FRAGILITY, SECULAR STAGNATION, AND INCOME DISTRIBUTION

Sunday 8:00 AM – 10:00 AM Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

Chair: Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

Paper #1: Induced shifting involvements and cycles of growth and distribution

Michalis  Nikiforos, mnikiforos@levy.org, Levy Economic Institute

Paper #2: The Functions and Distribution of Household Debt – A Study on US Data

Orsola Costantini, ocostantini@ineteconomics.org, Institute for New Economic Thinking

Paper #3: Income shares, secular stagnation, and the long run distribution of wealth

Daniele Tavani, daniele.tavani@colostate.edu, Colorado State University

Paper #4: The evolution of financial fragility: A quantile decomposition of firm balance sheets

Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston

Discussion among presenters

MACROECONOMIC AND DEVELOPMENT POLICY IN A FINANCIALLY GLOBALIZED ECONOMY: CURRENT AND HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVES

Sunday 8:00 AM – 10:00 AM Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Chair: Devika Dutt, ddutt@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #1: The Return of the Sacred Cows: How the International Financial Institutions Approach New Forms of Finance

Ingrid Kvangraven, ingrid.kvangraven@york.ac.uk, University of York

Paper #2: The IMF and World Bank’s policy for development of government bond market in developing countries: primacy of monetary policy as the result of financial globalisation

Carolina Alves, cca30@cam.ac.uk, University of Cambridge

Paper #3: The role of aid on peace consolidation in post-conflict Sri Lanka

Narayani Sritharan, nsritharan@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #4: Terms of Trade, Tariff Rates, and Recoveries from Financial Crises: The United States and Argentina in the 1890s

Peter Bent, phbent@gmail.com, American University of Paris

Paper #5: Can Reserve Accumulation be Counterproductive?

Devika Dutt, ddutt@umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Discussion among presenters

Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019

10:15 AM – 12:15 PM

THE RELATION OF PROFIT TO MONOPOLY POWER, INVESTMENT, AND ECONOMIC EXPANSION IN THE CONTEMPORARY US ECONOMY

Sunday 10:15 AM – 12:15 PMHyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover A

Chair/Organizer: David Kotz, dmkotz@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #1: Exploring the phases of current business cycle expansion in the U.S. and contemplating the next recession

Erdogan Bakir, eb035@bucknell.edu, Bucknell University

Al Campbell, al@economics.utah.edu, University of Utah

Paper #2: The U.S. Corporate Profits, Monopoly Power and New Technologies

Armagan Gezici, agezici@keene.edu, Keene State College

Paper #3: The Rate of Profit, Aggregate Demand, and the Long Economic Expansion since 2009 in the U.S.

David Kotz, dmkotz@econs.umass.edu, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Paper #4: Revisiting the investment-profit puzzle: the role of intangible assets

Ozgur Orhangazi, ozgurorhangazi@gmail.com, Kadir Has University, Istanbul

Discussants: Leila Davis, ldavis@middlebury.edu, University of Massachusetts Boston and Carolina Alves, cca30@cam.ac.uk, University of Cambridge

URPE Special Events

2019 David Gordon Memorial Lecture

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

12:30 PM – 2:15 PM

Social Structures and Macrodynamics

Anwar Shaikh, New School for Social Research

URPE Membership Meeting

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover G

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

4:30 PM – 6:00 PM

URPE Reception

Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Hanover AB

Friday, Jan. 4, 2019

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Women’s Caucus Meeting

Hyatt Regency Atlanta Learning Center

Saturday January 5

12pm – 1pm

Category: ASSA, conferences, URPE

Latest Tweets

  • Celebrating 50 years of URPE's Women's Caucus, a special upcoming issue on Gender and Radical Economics is still ac… https://t.co/zboSyvtM9f
    2 months ago
  • https://t.co/77taYnICDM
    2 months ago
  • #Imperialism, a #Marxist understanding https://t.co/fmPFzODFHj
    3 months ago